Translation (qiuqian)

白沙边,我们的谈话声如小石跳浪;

使海鸥鼓翼而飞。浮木成了凉鞋的架;

码头边沿,双脚成了小秋千。

飒飒私语填满远舶的白帆,,

脚底的黑埋石屏绝海流,激起浪花。

你晒黑的皮肤,声中的颤抖;

眼中弥漫这你。

Above: A Chinese translation of an earlier poem of mine (first published in a previous post), for submission to a Chinese poetry writing contest. I’m not sure if I’m allowed to publish it before I find out if I win anything yet, but eh, I’m not getting my hopes up.

Though not directly translated it’s still entirely wounded in strange grammar, enough to make Chinese readers cringe. (对不起,大部分是靠百度翻译的,哈哈)

 

Parts I’ve omitted (from an alternate, more direct translation which I contemplated for a while):

The ships in the distance like hulks of rock. 远处的船舶像黑埋石,激起了浪花。

Tan skin and smoke and the edge in your voice. 你晒黑的皮肤,声中的颤抖 (使我)眼中弥漫这你。

(A word from you and I would have 只需你一句话,

closed my eyes, surrendered to fate 我早已无条件投降,闭上眼睛,

leapt off the rock into) 跳入

Crystalline waters. 明如黑镜的海。

 

 

 

 

Author: naomi

Student, likes learning about foreign cultures, shall not divulge anymore so my identity is not exposed!

1 thought on “Translation (qiuqian)”

  1. Pingback: candid shot

Leave a Reply

