Just when I thought I’ve started to forget, 

crystallized inside me like a peach stone 

my longing to hold the dial tone to my ear, vein pulsating

endlessly; though nothing waits for me on the other end,

the familiar ring of your old number, dead now;

  the intensity of petals stroked by the wind, 

like how old people listen to rain;

hear the falling of water drops

If you happen to cross a black sidewalk

in the evening,

those sighs

are me.

Author: naomi

Student, likes learning about foreign cultures, shall not divulge anymore so my identity is not exposed!

Leave a Reply

