name-shaped

Prompt: Say Your Name

My name…

  • has a religious connotation (yay!). My name basically dictates that I be a servant to our Father and bring him joy. Which I wouldn’t mind doing, except I don’t or should I say can’t share the same sense of belonging to the religion I was born in as my family anymore.
  • starts with ‘A’. (yup, Naomi isn’t my real name. Sorry.) Which means I’m always at the front of the class register. Always. I actually feel that this had a positive influence on me as I was forced to become more confident, outspoken, etc.

I wonder though, am I happy I was forced to be confident at an early age due to my personality, or is my personality due to being forced to be confident?

If our personality is shaped by our experiences, how much of our experiences are shaped by forces beyond our control? By the luck which runs like molten gold or computer system – pure mathematical variable?

In a parallel universe, how is my counterpart named Elizabeth or Samantha faring differently from me?

What effects do your name have on you?

Author: naomi

Student, likes learning about foreign cultures, shall not divulge anymore so my identity is not exposed!

2 thoughts on “name-shaped”

Leave a Reply

