Cento #1

Author’s note: unsure if this is blasphemous or not; my first attempt at a cento, but with pop lyrics (not sure if Queen counts).

From the Latin word for “patchwork," the cento (or collage poem) is a poetic form made up of lines from poems by other poets.
https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/text/poetic-form-cento

 

Cento

 

If I turned up with a plane ticket, fly me to the moon

Let me photograph you in this light- another cigarette, and let yourself go

Everything you say is a sweet revelation

I’m merely contemplating what you feel inside

 

Piensa que tal vez mañana, yo ya estar

Distant lands, staring at the sun

Think of you always (I miss those long hot summer nights)

This ain’t lust, I know zettai suki dakara

___

Translations

Piensa que tal vez mañana, yo ya estar – I think by this time tomorrow, you’d be…

Zettai suki dakara – I love you after all

Sources

She Looks so Perfect by 5sos, Fly Me to the Moon by Frank Sinatra, When we were Young by Adele, Play the Game by Queen/

I Really Really Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen, Seaside Rendevouz by Queen/

Besame Mucho (Spanish) written by Consuelo Velázquez, Staring at the Sun by Mika, Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy by Queen, Chasing Pavements by Adele, Suki dakara (Japanese) by Mi

 

 

 

 

 

Author: naomi

Student, likes learning about foreign cultures, shall not divulge anymore so my identity is not exposed!

Leave a Reply

